All That Glitters

Published January 11, 2014 by withnailsandi

Hi Nailfans,

Fairy Lights and Gold Dust

I got these two little sparklers from Superdrug just before Christmas and thought I would review them before they were taken off the shelves. Now for those of you who aren’t so familiar with Barry M, they often do some great special offers and these Limited Editions were one (well two) of them. They were each free if you spent £6 or over on Barry M products, and as I have been creating my nail polish collection recently I easily spent enough to get both.

So on to the polishes…

FYI both of the swatches are 2 coats.

Firstly we have my favourite of the two – FAIRY LIGHTS

Top - Gold Dust Bottom - Fairy Lights (2 Coats)

Top – Gold Dust
Bottom – Fairy Lights
(2 Coats)

This is a beautiful sparkly polish that is a clear base with mainly a fine soft pink glitter along with silver and holographic in there too. The formula is easy to apply and gives a good coverage in two coats. I personally would layer this over a base colour as I like a completely opaque nail, but you could easily wear this on its own. Another thing that I love about this polish is that it can be worn in any season. As it is such a soft colour I think it would look fantastic over pastel cream shades in the summer or over darker colours in the winter.

Fairy Lights

Fairy Lights

Secondly we have GOLD DUST

Left - Gold Dust,  Right -Fairy Lights

Left – Gold Dust,
Right -Fairy Lights

Now this one I wasn’t too sure about and if it hadn’t been free I wouldn’t have paid for it. It is a strand glitter that is a mix of yellow gold and rose gold in a clear base. The mix of colours is nice as it gives it more depth, but as with many larger glitters it is a bit of a pain to apply and I found that it was very difficult to get consistent coverage. A dabbing technique seemed to work best and with two coats did eventually cover well although I am not a fan of the ‘hairy’ look. I will probably save this one for use around Christmas, maybe layered over a similar shade of gold to give it a little extra sparkle without the glitter being too visible.

Gold Dust

Gold Dust

On a final (and obvious) note, you will need a topcoat with both of these, as you would with all glitters. Speaking of topcoats, I am on the hunt for a new one as my Rimmel Finishing Touch has gone all gloopy, so if you have any recommendations please let me know.

Bye for now.

L x

COMING UP on With Nails and I…

More Barry M reviews PLUS I have just started my love affair with OPI so I will be reviewing some of those soon. Stay tuned!

4 comments on “All That Glitters

  • They look really pretty, I love Barry’s glittery nail polishes. I was considering buying Gold Dust but the lid kind of put me off as it’s a bit overwhelming xoxo

  • Leave a Reply

